Skip to main content

AAAS Elects Fellows

NC State's Memorial Belltower lit red at night

Eight NC State faculty members have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

AAAS has been awarding fellowships since 1874.

Here are the fellows as cited by AAAS:

  • Morton Barlaz, Distinguished University Professor and head of the Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering, for distinguished contributions to the field of environmental engineering, particularly for advancing understanding of solid waste engineering and related fundamental biological and chemical processes.
  • Marc Cubeta, professor of plant pathology and associate director of the Center for Integrated Fungal Research, for distinguished contributions at the intersection of fundamental and translational research in mycology and plant pathology, for improving plant and animal health.
  • Karen Daniels, Distinguished Professor of Physics and University Faculty Scholar, for distinguished contributions to the field of nonlinear and soft-matter physics, particularly for experimental investigation of granular matter.
  • Jason Delborne, professor of forestry and environmental resources and director of the science, technology and society program, for exceptional contributions to the understanding and practice of public engagement for the governance of emerging environmental technologies.
  • Candace Haigler, professor of crop science and plant biology, for distinguished research contributions to the fields of cellulose and cotton fiber biology and for broad service to the profession.
  • Ayman Hawari, Distinguished University Professor of Nuclear Engineering and director of the nuclear reactor program, for distinguished contributions to the field of nuclear engineering, particularly for the development of research reactor experimental facilities and fundamental contributions to the understanding of thermal neutron scattering.
  • Shuijin Hu, professor of plant pathology, for distinguished contributions to the field of microbial ecology, particularly elucidating multiple mechanisms by which microbial-plant interactions influence plant productivity and response to climate change.
  • Mary Watzin, professor of forestry and environmental resources, for distinguished contributions to the fields of marine and watershed ecology, interdisciplinary team science, and bringing science into public and policy discourse; and for her leadership in higher education.

NC State has the sixth-highest number of AAAS fellows of any university this year, alongside the University of California-Davis, the University of Pennsylvania and Washington University-St. Louis. The University of Michigan led with 17; the University of Illinois has 14; the University of Wisconsin has 11; the University of South Florida has 10; and Michigan State, Stanford, the University of California-Berkeley and the University of Chicago have nine. Duke University has five new fellows, while the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has four.

Each year, the AAAS Council — the policymaking body of the society — elects members who have shown “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.” Fellows are nominated by their peers and undergo an extensive review process.

AAAS named 564 fellows this year. They will be formally recognized in the journal Science in January. A virtual induction ceremony will be held on Feb. 19, 2022.

If you are interested in being nominated or in nominating a colleague for election as an AAAS fellow, contact Kim Grainger, associate vice provost for academic personnel and policy.

This post was originally published in NC State News.