# 2021-2022 Physics Department Committees, Directors, Etc.

### **Physics Department committees**

- Advisory: Kemper(22), Clarke(23), Mack(24), ex officio: Brown (DUP), Aspnes (DGP), Weninger (Assoc. DH). Charge: Advise the Department Head on all matters pertaining to the operation of the Department.
- **Diversity, Equity and Inclusion:** Kemper, Mehta, König, LeBlanc, Lim, Ricks, David Calvert, Vrinda Desai, McKenzie Myers, Somdutta Ghosh, Noah Wolfe, Tricity Andrew, Andi Morgan. Charge- Toward enhancing the diversity or climate of the department: identify, curate and publicize helpful resources, identify challenges in the department and recommend changes, be a resource available to all, and serve as a voice for affected members of the department.
- **General Personnel:** *Kemper (chair),* Fröhlich, Kumah, Young . Charge: Advise the Department Head on hires and target of opportunity hires.
- **Graduate Admissions:** *Riehn (chair),* Ditto, Fröhlich, Green, Konig, Longland, Mitas, Sun, Ünsal, Wang, Young, ex officio: Aspnes. Charge: Review graduate applications and make admissions recommendations to the DGP.
- **Graduate Recruiting:** *Riehn (chair),* Ade, Elting, Golub, Kneller, Lim, Mitas, Skokov. ex officio: Aspnes Charge: Identify and implement ways to increase our graduate application pool. Advertise our graduate program.
- **Post-tenure (Comprehensive) Review:** Dougherty(22), McLaughlin(23), Hallen(24). Charge: Perform duties as outlined in the Physics Department Post Tenure Review Standards and Procedures, RUL 05.68.57 and University Regulation 05.20.04 for tenured faculty scheduled for review in 2021-2022 (Ade, Mitas, Riehn, and Thomas)
- **Reappointment, promotion and tenure (RPT):** *Schaefer (chair),* Bernholc, Kneller, Thomas, Weninger. Charge: Perform duties as outlined in the Physics Department (RUL 05.67.704), College (RUL 05.67.706) and University (POL 05.20.01) RPT procedures.
- **Safety:** *Green (chair),* Kaur, Thomas, Warren. Charge: Develop procedures and carry out research laboratory inspections; advise the Department Head on the safe operation of the research laboratory facilities in the Physics department.
- **Social media:** *Belmonte (chair),* Fortner, Lewis, Mack. Charge: develop and execute departmental outreach and marketing efforts. (Arrange committee access to physicswins@ncsu.edu)
- **Teaching Evaluations:** *Hallen (chair),* Ditto, Heyward, Ji, Sagui, Schaefer, Thomas. Charge: Perform teaching evaluations for all junior faculty and senior faculty either up for review or with poor teaching evaluations, or by request. Procedures and policies described at <a href="https://ofd.ncsu.edu/teaching-learning/peer-review-of-teaching/">https://ofd.ncsu.edu/teaching-learning/peer-review-of-teaching/</a>.
- **Non-majors' labs:** *Doucette (chair),* Bochinski, Daniels, Elting, Fortner, Heyward. Review non-major lab courses and develop plans for revisions and updates.

## Directors, Coordinators, Liaisons, Etc.

- Alumni Coordinator: Fortner
- Astronomy Labs: Mack, Fortner
- APS friend: Belmonte
- APS-IDEA: Hallen
- Course Coordinator for 205/208: Webster
- Course Coordinator for 211/212: Heyward
- Majors laboratory Coordinator: Mehta

- Physics Tutorial Center: Lewis
- Colloquium: Bordoloi
- **DELTA coordinator:** Warren
- Director of EaRL: Clarke
- Director of Graduate Programs: Aspnes
- Associate Director of Graduate Programs: Riehn
- Director of Undergraduate Programs: Brown
- Associate Director of Undergraduate Programs: Lewis
- Physics Minor Coordinator: Brown/Lewis
- Library Liaison: Kumah
- McCormick Symposium: Brown
- Open House: Heyward, SPS President
- Sigma Pi Sigma Adviser: Brown
- Society of Physics Students Advisors: Fröhlich, Kemper, Green
- Director of Instructional Labs (TA training/scheduling): Webster, Egler
- Undergraduate Advisers: Alexieff, Brown, Clarke, Dougherty, Fröhlich, Gundogdu, Hallen, Huffman, Kemper, Kneller, Lewis, Weninger
- Undergraduate Research Coordinator: Green
- Women in Physics Coordinator: Daniels
- National Society of Black Physicists, Student Chapter, Coordinator: Daniels
- Postdoctoral affairs coordinator: Kneller
- Academic program assessment coordinator: Dougherty

### **College of Sciences Committees**

- Faculty Advisory Council: Elting(23), Gundogdu(22)
- Staff Advisory Council: Fernandez(24)
- RPT Committee: Sagui(24), Aspnes(22)
- COS chair-elect of the Faculty: Riehn
- Educational and Technology Fee (ETF) Committee: Warren
- Faculty/Staff Awards: Wang, Bennett
- Faculty mentor program: Daniels
- Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Kemper(24), Ricks(23)
- Research Advisory Committee: Longland(22)
- Teaching Advisory and Awards Committee: Heyward(22)
- Information Technology Advisory Committee: Warren(23), Bennett(23)
- Honors Program Committee: Brown
- Undergraduate Academic Advisory Committee: Brown, Lewis
- Graduate Academic Advisory Committee: Aspnes, Riehn
- Safety Committee: Green
- Space Committee: Huffman
- Professorships of Distinction: McLaughlin(22)
- Committee on International Programs: Ji(23)
- 5 yr physics department head review: Clarke, Heyward, Kemper, Kumah, Mack

### **University Committees**

- Faculty Senate: Riehn
- University RPT committee: Roland-chair, Dougherty
- Radiation Safety: Golub
- University Grievance: Golub
- University International Programs Committee: Golub
- University Research: Longland
- University Housing: Lewis-chair
- University Hearing Committee: Aspnes (19-23)
- University Group Insurance & Benefits Committee: Golub
- University Bookstores: Aspnes
- IBM Qhub Advisory Committee: Kemper, Schaefer
- Carbon Electronics Search Committee: Ade, Dougherty, Gundogdu
- Quantitative and Computational Developmental Biology (QCDB) Search Committee: Elting, Monti Belmonte
- Quantitative and Computational Developmental Biology (QCDB) Organization Committee: Elting
- Park scholarship advisory board: Elting
- GAANN Scientific Computation Committee: Bernholc
- Data Science Initiative (DSI) Advisory Council: Bernholc
- High Performance Computing (HPC) Faculty Oversight Committee: Monti Belmonte
- Goldwater scholarship nomination committee Gundogdu

Last modified 9/3/2021