## 2023-2024 Physics Department Committees, Directors, Etc. (last modified 12/15/2023)

- Advisory: LeBlanc(24), Elting(25), Gundogdu(26) ex officio: Dougherty (DUP), Aspnes (DGP), Weninger (Assoc. DH). Charge: Advise the Dept. Head on all matters pertaining to Department operations.
- **Diversity, Equity and Inclusion:** *LeBlanc (chair)*, Kemper, Sun, Koenig, Bordoloi, Golub, Wagoner, Lilliock, Shaikh, Hogan, Lee, Calvert, Froustey. Charge: Toward enhancing the diversity or climate of the department: identify, curate and publicize helpful resources, identify challenges in the department and recommend changes, be a resource available to all, and serve as a voice for affected members of the department.
- **Personnel:** *Teaching Search Longland (chair)*, Warren, Heyward, Titus, Wagoner, Mehta, Sun, Skokov Charge: Advise the Department Head on hires and target of opportunity hires.
- · Graduate Admissions: Riehn (chair), Bordoloi, Roderer, Golub, Gundogdu, Ji, Konig, Longland, Mitas, Sun, Ünsal, Young, ex officio: Aspnes. Charge: Review graduate applications and make admissions recommendations to the DGP.
- **Graduate Recruiting:** *Riehn (chair),* Ade, Elting, Green, Ji, Kneller, Lim, Lin, Mitas, Skokov. ex officio: Aspnes Charge: Identify and implement ways to increase graduate application pool. Advertise graduate program.
- **Post-tenure Review:** Hallen(24), Fröhlich(25), Wang(26). Charge: Perform duties as outlined in the Physics Department Post Tenure Review Standards and Procedures, RUL 05.68.57 and University Regulation 05.20.04 for tenured faculty scheduled for review in 2023-2024 (Brown, Dougherty, Gundogdu, McLaughlin, Sagui, Ünsal)
- Reappointment, promotion, and tenure (RPT): Schaefer (chair), Elting, Skokov, Kneller. Charge: Perform duties outlined in the Physics Department (RUL 05.67.704), College (RUL 05.67.706) and University (POL 05.20.01) RPT procedures.
- **Safety:** *Green (chair)*, Golub, Gundogdu, Thomas, Warren. Charge: Develop procedures and carry out research laboratory inspections; advise the Department Head on the safe operation of the research laboratory facilities in the Physics department.
- · **Social media:** *Monti Belmonte(chair),* Fortner, Lewis. Charge: develop and execute departmental outreach and marketing efforts. (Arrange committee access to <a href="mailto:physicswins@ncsu.edu">physicswins@ncsu.edu</a>).
- **Teaching Evaluations:** Hallen (chair), Ditto, Heyward, Ji, Sagui, Schaefer, Thomas. Charge: Perform teaching evaluations for all junior faculty and senior faculty either up for review or with poor teaching evaluations, or by request. Procedures and policies described at <a href="https://policies.ncsu.edu/regulation/reg-05-20-10/">https://policies.ncsu.edu/regulation/reg-05-20-10/</a>
- **205/208 steering committee:** *Clarke (chair)*, Huffman, LeBlanc, Lewis, Titus, Weninger Charge: Formulate standard 205/208 course policies for academic year.
- Undergraduate Major Curriculum: Dougherty (chair), Clarke, Brown, Elting, Kneller, Longland, Lewis. Charge: advise DUP on issues related to the physics major curriculum.

## **Directors, Coordinators, Liaisons, Etc.**

· Alumni Coordinator: Fortner

Astronomy Labs: Fortner

APS friend: Monti Belmonte

APS-IDEA: Hallen, Elting

Course Coordinator for 205/208: Titus

Course Coordinator for 211/212: Heyward

Majors Laboratory Coordinator: Mehta

Tutorial Center: Lewis

**Colloquium:** Bordoloi, Roederer (taking over in spring 2024).

· **DELTA coordinator:** Warren

**Director of EaRL:** Clarke

Director of Graduate Programs: Aspnes

Associate Director of Graduate Programs: Riehn

· Director of Undergraduate Programs: Dougherty

Associate Director of Undergraduate Programs: Lewis

· Physics Minor Coordinator: Lewis, Dougherty

Library Liaison: Daniels

McCormick Symposium: Dougherty

Open House: Heyward, SPS President

Sigma Pi Sigma Adviser: Dougherty

Society of Physics Students Advisors: Bennett, Kemper, Green

Director of Instructional Labs (TA training/scheduling): Lewis, Bennett

· Undergraduate Advisers: Alexieff, Brown, Clarke, Dougherty, Fröhlich, Gundogdu, Hallen, Kemper, Kneller, Lewis, Longland, Weninger

- **EaRL operations working group:** Clarke (chair), TBD (workstudy), Mehta, Radhakrishnan (Grad), Bochinski, Boland (Grad), Crites (Grad), Daniels, Green, Lannon (Grad), Riehn, Wang.
- **EiC mini-labs working group:** Clarke (chair), Dana Thomas (Biological Sciences), Radhakrishnan (Grad), Elting, Frohlich, Green, Kemper, Kneller, Longland, McLaughlin, Thomas, Weninger
- Undergraduate Research Coordinator: Green
- Women in Physics Coordinator: Elting
- National Society of Black Physicists, Student Chapter, Coordinator: Wagoner
- · Postdoctoral affairs coordinator: Kneller
- Academic program assessment coordinator: Dougherty

## **College of Sciences Committees**

- Faculty Advisory Council: Schaefer (25), Green(26) Roland (ex. officio)
- Staff Advisory Council: Dixon(24)
- RPT Committee: Sagui(24), Gundogdu(25)
- · COS chair-elect of the Faculty: Riehn
- · COS secretary of the Faculty: Lim
- Educational and Technology Fee (ETF) Committee: Warren
- Faculty/Staff Awards: Ade, Bennett
- Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Kemper(24), Lilliock(26)
- · Research Advisory Committee: Young(25), Elting (ex. officio from URC)
- Teaching Advisory and Awards Committee: Kemper(25)
- Information Technology Advisory Committee: Warren(24), Sagui(26)
- · IPL Committee: Warren
- · Honors Program Committee: Brown, Dougherty
- Undergraduate Academic Advisory Committee: Lewis, Dougherty
- Graduate Academic Advisory Committee: Aspnes, Riehn
- · Safety Committee: Green

· Space Committee: Huffman

· Professorships of Distinction: Ade (25)

Committee on International Programs: Ji(23)

## **University Committees.**

· Faculty Senate: Roland

Radiation Safety: Golub

· University Grievance: Golub

University International Programs Committee: Ji

University Research: Elting

· University Group Insurance & Benefits Committee: Golub

**University Bookstores:** Aspnes

University 603 Hearing Committee: Aspnes

· IBM Qhub Advisory Committee: Kemper, Schaefer

· Carbon Electronics Search Committee: Ade, Dougherty, Gundogdu

Quantitative and Computational Developmental Biology (QCDB) Organization Committee: Elting

Park scholarship advisory board: Elting

· GAANN Scientific Computation Committee: Bernholc

Data Science Initiative (DSI) Advisory Council: Bernholc

High Performance Computing (HPC) Faculty Oversight Committee: Monti Belmonte

Goldwater scholarship nomination committee: Gundogdu

Goodnight search committee: Schaefer

NCSU rep SURA/JLab: Ji

NCSU athletics council: Roland

· Quantum information interest group advisor: Kemper