2024-2025 Physics Department Committees, Directors, Etc. (modified 06/11/24)

Physics Department committees

- Advisory: Elting(25), Gundogdu(26), Titus (27), ex officio: Dougherty (DUP), Aspnes (DGP), Weninger (Assoc. DH). Charge: Advise the Department Head on all matters pertaining to the operation of the Department.
- Recruitment, Retention, and Wellbeing: LeBlanc (chair), TBD. Charge-Toward enhancing the climate of the department: identify, curate and publicize helpful resources, identify challenges in the department and recommend changes, be a resource available to all, and serve as a voice for affected members of the department.
- Personnel: TBD (chair), TBD Charge: Advise the Department Head on hires and target of opportunity hires.
- Graduate Admissions: Riehn (chair), Chen, Ji, Konig, Lin, Longland, Mitas, Roederer, Sun, Ünsal, Wang, Young ex officio: Aspnes. Charge: Review graduate applications and make admissions recommendations to the DGP.
- · Graduate Recruiting: Riehn (chair), Ade, Bordoloi, Chen, Elting, Green, Ji, Kneller, Lim, Lin, Mitas, Skokov, Wang. ex officio: Aspnes Charge: Identify and implement ways to increase our graduate application pool. Advertise our graduate program.
- Post-tenure (Comprehensive) Review: Fröhlich(25), Wang(26), Gundogdu(27). Charge: Perform duties as outlined in the Physics Department Post Tenure Review Standards and Procedures, RUL 05.68.57 and University Regulation 05.20.04 for tenured faculty scheduled for review in 2024-2025 (Clarke, Daniels, Golub, Hallen, Weninger)
- Reappointment, promotion and tenure (RPT): Schaefer (chair), Clarke, McLaughlin, Thomas, moreTBD. Charge: Perform duties as outlined in the Physics Department (RUL 05.67.704), College (RUL 05.67.706) and University (POL 05.20.01) RPT procedures.
- · **Safety:** Green (chair), Bochinski, Golub, Gundogdu, Thomas. Charge: Develop procedures and carry out research laboratory inspections; advise the Department Head on the safe operation of the research laboratory facilities in the Physics department.
- **Social media:** Monti-Belmonte(chair), Fortner, Lewis. Charge: develop and execute departmental outreach and marketing efforts. (Arrange committee access to physicswins@ncsu.edu)
- **Teaching Evaluations:** Hallen (chair), Daniels, Ditto, Heyward, Ji, Sagui, Schaefer, Thomas. Charge: Perform teaching evaluations for all junior faculty and senior faculty either up for review or with poor teaching evaluations, or by request. Procedures and policies described at https://ofd.ncsu.edu/teaching-learning/peer-review-of-teaching/.
- · Undergraduate Major Curriculum: Dougherty (chair), Clarke, Brown, Elting, Kneller, Lewis, Longland. Charge: Advise DUP on issues related to the physics major.
- 205/208 steering committee: Clarke (chair), Huffman, Roederer, Wagoner, Titus, Weninger. Charge: Advise Dept. Head on policies for PY205 and PY 208.

Directors, Coordinators, Liaisons, Etc.

· Director of Graduate Programs: Aspnes

· Associate Director of Graduate Programs: Riehn

Director of Undergraduate Programs: Dougherty

Associate Director of Undergraduate Programs: Lewis

· Physics Minor Coordinator: Lewis, Dougherty

Academic program assessment coordinator: Dougherty

· Alumni Coordinator: Fortner

• Astronomy Labs: Fortner, Roederer

APS friend: Belmonte

APS-IDEA: Hallen, Elting

Colloquium: Roederer

Course Coordinator for 205/208: Titus

Course Coordinator for 211/212: Heyward

Director of EaRL: Clarke

Director of Instructional Labs (TA training/scheduling): Lewis, Bennett

· Library Liaison: Daniels

Majors laboratory Coordinator: Mehta

· McCormick Symposium: Dougherty

National Society of Black Physicists, Student Chapter, Coordinator: Wagoner

Open House: Heyward, SPS President

Postdoctoral affairs coordinator: Kneller

Sigma Pi Sigma Adviser: Dougherty

Society of Physics Students Advisors: Green, Dougherty, Bennett

Tutorial Center: Lewis

Undergraduate Research Coordinator: Green

- Women in Physics Coordinator: Elting
- **EaRL operations working group:** Clarke (chair), TBD (workstudy), Mehta, Daniels, Bochinski, Green, Crites (Grad), Riehn, Wang
- **EiC mini-labs working group:** Clarke (chair), Dana Thomas (Biological Sciences), Daniels, Dougherty, Elting, Frohlich, Green, Kneller, Longland, Thomas, Weninger
- · Undergraduate Advisers: Alexieff, Brown, Clarke, Daniels, Dougherty, Fröhlich, Gundogdu, Hallen, Huffman, Kemper, Kneller, Lewis, Longland, Weninger

College of Sciences Committees

- Faculty Advisory Council: Schaefer(25), Green (26), Roland (ex. officio)
- Staff Advisory Council: Warshawsky(27)
- RPT Committee: Gundogdu(25), Kneller(27)
- Educational and Technology Fee (ETF) Committee: Kepnes
- · Faculty/Staff Awards: Ade, Bennett
- Committee on DEI: Lilliock(26), Faculty Member Needed
- Research Advisory Committee: Young(25), Elting (ex. officio from URC)
- Teaching Advisory and Awards Committee: Wang(27)
- Information Technology Advisory Committee: Bochinski(27), Bennett(23)
- Honors Program Committee: Dougherty
- Undergraduate Academic Advisory Committee: Lewis, Dougherty
- · Graduate Academic Advisory Committee: Aspnes, Riehn
- · Safety Committee: Green
- · Space Committee: Huffman
- Professorships of Distinction: Ade (25)
- Committee on International Programs: Ji(25)

University Committees

- Faculty Senate: Roland
- · Radiation Safety: Golub
- · University Grievance: Golub

- University International Programs Committee: Golub
- · University Research: Elting
- · IBM Qhub Advisory Committee: Kemper, Schaefer
- · Carbon Electronics Search Committee: Ade, Dougherty, Gundogdu
- · Quantitative and Computational Developmental Biology (QCDB) Search Committee: Elting, Monti Belmonte
- Quantitative and Computational Developmental Biology (QCDB) Organization Committee: Elting
- · Park scholarship advisory board: Elting
- · GAANN Scientific Computation Committee: Bernholc
- · Data Science Initiative (DSI) Advisory Council: Bernholc
- · High Performance Computing (HPC) Faculty Oversight Committee: Monti Belmonte
- · Goldwater scholarship nomination committee Gundogdu
- · Goodnight search committee Schaefer
- · NCSU rep SURA/JLab: Ji
- NCSU Athletics council: Roland