# 2024-2025 Physics Department Committees, Directors, Etc. (modified 09/10/24)

## **Physics Department committees**

• **Advisory:** Elting(25), Gundogdu(26), Titus (27), ex officio: Dougherty (DUP), Aspnes (DGP), Weninger (Assoc. DH). Charge: Advise the Department Head on all matters pertaining to the operation of the Department.

• **Recruitment, Retention, and Wellbeing:** LeBlanc (chair), Kinley-Hanlon, TBD. Charge- Toward enhancing the climate of the department: identify, curate and publicize helpful resources, identify challenges in the department and recommend changes, be a resource available to all, and serve as a voice for affected members of the department.

• **Personnel:** *Titus* (chair), Kinley-Hanlon, Longland, Monti-Belmonte, Sagui, Wagoner Charge: Advise the Department Head on hires and target of opportunity hires.

• **Graduate Admissions:** Riehn (chair), Chen, Ji, Konig, Lin, Longland, Mitas, Roederer, Sun, Ünsal, Wang, Young ex officio: Aspnes. Charge: Review graduate applications and make admissions recommendations to the DGP.

• **Graduate Recruiting:** Riehn (chair), Ade, Bordoloi, Chen, Elting, Green, Ji, Kneller, Lim, Lin, Mitas, Skokov, Wang. ex officio: Aspnes Charge: Identify and implement ways to increase our graduate application pool. Advertise our graduate program.

• **Post-tenure (Comprehensive) Review:** Fröhlich(25), Wang(26), Gundogdu(27). Charge: Perform duties as outlined in the Physics Department Post Tenure Review Standards and Procedures, RUL 05.68.57 and University Regulation 05.20.04 for tenured faculty scheduled for review in 2024-2025 (Clarke, Daniels, Golub, Hallen, Weninger)

• **Reappointment, promotion and tenure (RPT):** Schaefer (chair), Clarke, Heyward, Kneller, McLaughlin, Skokov, Thomas. Charge: Perform duties as outlined in the Physics Department (RUL 05.67.704), College (RUL 05.67.706) and University (POL 05.20.01) RPT procedures.

• **Safety:** Green (chair), Bochinski, Golub, Gundogdu, Thomas. Charge: Develop procedures and carry out research laboratory inspections; advise the Department Head on the safe operation of the research laboratory facilities in the Physics department.

• **Social media:** Monti-Belmonte(chair), Fortner, Lewis. Charge: develop and execute departmental outreach and marketing efforts. (Arrange committee access to <a href="mailto:physicswins@ncsu.edu">physicswins@ncsu.edu</a>)

• **Teaching Evaluations:** Hallen (chair), Daniels, Ditto, Heyward, Ji, Sagui, Schaefer, Thomas. Charge: Perform teaching evaluations for all junior faculty and senior faculty either up for review or with poor teaching evaluations, or by request. Procedures and policies described at <u>https://ofd.ncsu.edu/teaching-learning/peer-review-of-teaching/</u>.

• **Undergraduate Major Curriculum:** Dougherty (chair), Clarke, Brown, Elting, Kneller, Lewis, Longland. Charge: Advise DUP on issues related to the physics major.

• **205/208 steering committee:** Clarke (chair), Huffman, Roederer, Wagoner, Titus, Weninger. Charge: Advise Dept. Head on policies for PY205 and PY 208.

## Directors, Coordinators, Liaisons, Etc.

- Director of Graduate Programs: Aspnes
- Associate Director of Graduate Programs: Riehn
- Director of Undergraduate Programs: Dougherty
- Associate Director of Undergraduate Programs: Lewis
- Physics Minor Coordinator: Lewis, Dougherty
- Academic program assessment coordinator: Dougherty
- Alumni Coordinator: Fortner
- Astronomy Labs: Fortner, Roederer
- APS friend: Belmonte
- · APS-IDEA: Hallen, Elting
- · Colloquium: Roederer
- Course Coordinator for 205/208: Titus
- Course Coordinator for 211/212: Heyward
- · Director of EaRL: Clarke
- Director of Instructional Labs (TA training/scheduling): Lewis, Bennett, Kinley-Hanlon

• **EaRL operations working group:** Clarke (chair), TBD (workstudy), Mehta, Daniels, Bochinski, Green, Crites (Grad), Riehn, Wang

• **EiC mini-labs working group:** Clarke (chair), Dana Thomas (Biological Sciences), Daniels, Dougherty, Elting, Frohlich, Green, Kneller, Longland, Thomas, Weninger

- · Library Liaison: Daniels
- Majors laboratory Coordinator: Mehta
- McCormick Symposium: Dougherty
- National Society of Black Physicists, Student Chapter, Coordinator: Wagoner
- **Open House:** Heyward, SPS President
- Postdoctoral affairs coordinator: Kneller

- Sigma Pi Sigma Adviser: Dougherty
- Society of Physics Students Advisors: Green, Dougherty, Bennett
- Tutorial Center: Lewis

• **Undergraduate Advisers:** Alexieff, Brown, Clarke, Daniels, Dougherty, Fröhlich, Gundogdu, Hallen, Huffman, Kemper, Kneller, Lewis, Longland, Weninger

- · Undergraduate Research Coordinator: Green
- Women in Physics Coordinator: Daniels

#### **College of Sciences Committees**

- Community Support Committee: Lilliock(26), Kinley-Hanlon(27)
- Educational and Technology Fee (ETF) Committee: Kepnes
- Faculty Advisory Council: Schaefer(25), Green (26), Roland (ex. officio)
- Faculty/Staff Awards: Ade, Bennett
- Graduate Academic Advisory Committee: Aspnes, Riehn
- Honors Program Committee: Dougherty
- Information Technology Advisory Committee: Bochinski(27), Bennett(23)
- International Programs: Ji(25)
- **Professorships of Distinction:** Ade (25)
- **Research Advisory Committee:** Young(25), Elting (ex. officio from URC)
- **RPT Committee:** Gundogdu(25), Kneller(27)
- · Safety Committee: Green
- Space Committee: Huffman
- Staff Advisory Council: Warshawsky(27)
- Teaching Advisory and Awards Committee: Wang(27)
- Undergraduate Academic Advisory Committee: Lewis, Dougherty

#### **University Committees**

- Carbon Electronics Search Committee: Ade, Dougherty, Gundogdu
- Data Science Initiative (DSI) Advisory Council: Bernholc
- Faculty Senate: Roland
- GAANN Scientific Computation Committee: Bernholc
- · Goldwater scholarship nomination committee Gundogdu
- · Goodnight search committee Schaefer
- High Performance Computing (HPC) Faculty Oversight Committee: Monti Belmonte
- · IBM Qhub Advisory Committee: Kemper, Schaefer
- NCSU rep SURA/JLab: Ji
- NCSU Athletics council: Roland
- Park scholarship advisory board: Elting
- Quantitative and Computational Developmental Biology (QCDB) Search Committee: Elting, Monti Belmonte
- Quantitative and Computational Developmental Biology (QCDB) Organization Committee: Elting
- Radiation Safety: Golub
- University course and curriculum committee: Lewis (25)
- University Grievance: Golub
- · University International Programs Committee: Golub
- University Research: Elting
- University Registration, Records, and Calendar committee: Lewis (27)