Skip to main content

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

Our Mission

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) committee of the Physics Department’s mission is to be a force for producing lasting change in making the department equitable and inclusive, in ensuring every faculty, staff, student, postdoc, and visitor has a voice in the department. We work to make physics accessible to all. We, as members of this committee, strive to be humble with regard to our own flaws and bias, as well as being open-minded to the perspectives and experiences of others. We aim to be open to criticisms from members within and outside the department.

We uphold the physics department Code of Professional Conduct.

Our committee bylaws can be downloaded here.

Our Members

Andi MorganResearch
Andrew IgdalUndergraduate
Anjali AgrawalGraduate
Caroline EvansGraduate
David CalvertGraduate
Finn DensmoreUndergraduate
Jacob WyngaardGraduate
Julie ZwickUndergraduate
Sebastian Kö
Shuang Fang
Vrinda DesaiGraduate


The DEI committee is composed of several subcommittees that oversee specific tasks related to the initiatives of the DEI committee.

Interfaces with the department at large to determine the current climate through means such as surveys. Results of these surveys determine any potentially necessary trainings that may be needed.


  • Sharonda LeBlanc
  • Ashley Ricks
  • Vrinda Desai

Organizes events for the department regarding different DEI initiatives. Works with the department to determine the possible budget for these types of events.


  • Shuang Fang Lim
  • Vijaya Mehta
  • Andi Morgan

Compiles and proposes recommendations to the department to improve the DEI climate in classrooms, labs, and offices. Data for the recommendations is collected in surveys from the climate subcommittee, as well as from those who reach out directly to the DEI committee.


  • Lex Kemper
  • Sharonda LeBlanc
  • Sebastian König

Oversees the membership of the DEI committee. Advertises for and reviews nominees each year.


  • Ashley Ricks
  • Sharonda LeBlanc

Responsible for maintenance and content of the DEI website.


  • David Calvert
  • Vrinda Desai
  • Lex Kemper


You can reach us by e-mailing, or by reaching out individually.

The department is part of the College Of Sciences, which has its own DEI initiatives. More information can be found here.