Skip to main content

Harald Ade

Goodnight Innovation Distinguished Professor

Director, Organic and Carbon Electronics Laboratory

Partners Building II 1507


A graduate of Stony Brook University, H. Ade has been a faculty member at NCSU since Nov. 1992, rising through the ranks to Full Professor by 2001, and been named Distinguished Professor of Physics in 2014 and Goodnight Innovation Distinguished Professor in 2017. He has had an active and continually funded research program (~$14,500,000 total) and served as Director of Graduate Program in Physics from 2006-2013. Recognitions include R&D100 Award, NSF Young Investigator Award, APS Fellow, AAAS Fellow, (NCSU) Alumni Outstanding Research Award, K. F. J. Heinrich Award, and Shirley Price for Outstanding Science and Halbach Award of Innovative Instrumentation (both at the Advanced Light Source). He is a 2017 and 2018 Clarivate Analytics WoS Highly Cited Researcher in Materials Science.

His most distinguished external engagements include serving on the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Advanced Light Source (2011- present) and the BESSY-II Synchrotron Facility in Berlin, Germany (2006-2009), as well as the Scientific Advisory Council of the Helmholz Zentrum Berlin, Germany (2009 – 2012).


Area(s) of Expertise

Prof. Ade developed a number of novel instruments and characterization methods, which include Near Edge X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (NEXAFS) microscopy, X-ray linear dichroism microscopy, X-ray photoemission microscopy, resonant x-ray reflectivity and resonant soft x-ray scattering (R-SoXS). Their applications focus primarily on determining the composition, morphology and structure of polymeric and organic electronic materials at the sub-micron spatial scale. R-SoXS has become a method de rigueur for the characterization of organic photovoltaic devices, as it affords high scattering contrast, sensitivity to molecular orientation, and a q-range that matches important lengths-scale of the device morphology. Instrumentation advanced in x-ray microscopy have lead to a commercial instrument by Accel (now Bruker).

Click here to view a larger list of publications.


View all publications


  • 2019 Keynote Lecture, GISAX
  • 2018 Keynote Lecture, Hybrid and Organic Photovoltaics Conference (HOPV18, Benidorm, Spain)
  • 2018 Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence (NCSU)
  • 2017 – 2019 Clarivate Analytics, Web of Science Highly Cited in Materials Science
  • 2016 NCSU Alumni Outstanding Research Award
  • 2016 Inaugural Member, NCSU Research Leadership Academy
  • 2016 “Scientific Literacy”, After-dinner speaker, Southeast Ultrafast Conference, Raleigh
  • 2014 – 2015 4 plenary/keynote lectures
  • 2014 Cover of Nature Photonics (4/26/2014)
  • 2014 Sayers Lecture, Physics, NCSU
  • 2013 Shirley Award for Outstanding Science at the Advanced Light Source
  • 2013 NCSU Alumni Outstanding Research Award for 2011-2012
  • 2011 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 2010 Fellow, American Physical Society
  • 2002 Halbach Award for Innovative Instrumentation, Advanced Light Source, Berkeley
  • 2000 K. F. J. Heinrich Award, Microbeam Analysis Society
  • 1995 Proctor & Gamble Presidential Faculty Fellow Support Program
  • 1995 Sigma Xi Research Award, North Carolina State University Chapter
  • 1994 NSF Young Investigator Award
  • 1994 DuPont Young Professor Grant
  • 1994 Finalist, Proctor & Gamble University Exploratory Research Program
  • 1991 R&D 100 Award
  • 1984 – 1985 Exchange Student Fellowship, Stony Brook, New York